Skip to Main Content

Developing Whole Leaders for the whole World

National Accreditation

The College of Education is nationally accredited as an NCATE legacy program by the Council for the Accreditation of Educator Preparation and by the Oklahoma Office of Educational Quality and Accountability, and is a member of the American Association of Colleges of Teacher Education.



National Acceptance of Professional Licensure 

Licensure in education is regulated state by state. The teacher and administrator preparation programs in the College of Education specifically meet the current requirements for Oklahoma.

Oklahoma is a participant in the NASDEC Interstate Agreement, coordinated by the National Association of State Directors of Teacher Education and Certification. This agreement makes educators licensed in participating states eligible for licensure in other member states. Holders of Oklahoma teacher certification can be hired and begin work immediately, even if there are additional requirements to be met over time.  All but three states have signed the Agreement: New Mexico, South Dakota, Wisconsin, and New York. Each requires additional testing or workshops. A number of other states have additional requirements for the certification of administrators.

See the table on Teacher Credential Acceptance by State or the Administrator Credential Acceptance by State for state listings. A directory of the Department of Education of each state can be found here. This information was accurate as of October 1, 2020. Contact the ORU College of Education with any questions regarding programs and national acceptance of professional credentials.


Annual Reporting Measures

The eight CAEP annual reporting measures are found here.

Take the next step
toward your career.