Skip to Main Content


In 1998, the Alumni Association Board of Directors established an Alumni Awards program. The first awards were handed out in 1999. In 2014, a new award was introduced for Distinguished Service "In Every Person's World." (Note: In 2015, as part of its 50th Anniversary celebration, ORU presented 50 Lifetime Global Achievement Awards to alumni, friends, and other notable individuals. Alumni Awards were not presented in 2015.)

In 2019, another new award was introduced: The Rising Servant Leader Award (RSLA). The first RSLA will be presented at the 2020 Homecoming Dinner. Read more about this award below.

The categories and criteria for the four Alumni Award nominations are as follows:

Distinguished Service to God

Excellence in fulfillment of Oral Roberts' vision for students to go into "every person's world" through full- or part-time ministry in a church, missions organization, or other ministry.

Distinguished Service to the Community

Excellence in serving the community and society, including those outside the Kingdom of God, by bringing God's voice, light, and power into their world; and excellence in meeting unique challenges presented by their environment.

Distinguished Service to the Alma Mater

Excellence in their field of service, contributions to the total life of the university, and spiritual impact on students, the ORU community, and fellow alumni. Nominations based in part on outstanding or faithful financial support of ORU are welcomed, but this is not a prerequisite for the award.

Distinguished Service “In Every Person’s World”

Excellence in carrying out ORU's founding vision through service and achievements in non-ministry/non-missions fields, and by representing Christ in their particular corner of "every person's world." 

In all four categories, quality and longevity of service and ministry will be considered. Those who have served "quietly and faithfully" will be on equal footing with those who are widely recognized for their work. Each nominee's life and conduct should reflect Christ's character as revealed in scripture.

The Rising Servant Leader Award

At their November 2019 meeting, the Alumni Association Board of Directors voted to create a new award: The Rising Servant Leader Award. This annual award is to be granted to a young alumnus/alumna who has received an undergraduate degree from ORU within the last ten years, and who has shown exceedingly outstanding, Christ-like character.

As with the annual Alumni Awards, nominees for this award will be evaluated based on the information submitted by their nominators, and through the references that must come from a mentor, a pastor, and a peer. The nominator’s information on the nominee, and positive impressions from the references, must provide verifiable evidence of the nominee’s Christ-like conduct, and the fruit of his or her outstanding character.

This award is intended to empower and acknowledge younger alumni within their first decade out of school—to honor them for being of unimpeachable character in representing ORU. Board members want this award to be reminiscent of how Paul empowered Timothy “to lead and continue to press on in the good fight.” The board wants to acknowledge young alumni and their accomplishments while commissioning them to fight the good fight of faith by representing ORU through their service to God, service to the community, service to their alma mater, and service in every person's world.

For more information on these awards, contact your board representative or the Office of Alumni Relations at or 918.495.6610.

2019 honorees

Paul Palmer ’72, Distinguished Service to the Alma Mater; Jocelyn McCarver ’85, Distinguished Service to the Community; Susan Kroll ’88, Distinguished Service “In Every Person’s World”; and LaDonna Osborn ’00, Distinguished Service to God.

2019 AOY


Previous Winners 2018-1999

Take the next step
toward your career.